Sprungmarken

Servicenavigation

Hauptnavigation


Sie sind hier: Start > 

Bereichsnavigation


Hauptinhalt

Spatial Risk Management and Climate Impact Research

BaumAdapt – Optimisation of city wide ecosystem services of urban tree population in accordance with the resilience of critical infrastructure with a focus on summer strong wind events and climate adaptation (2018- 2019)

The aim of the project, taking into account the vulnerability of the critical infrastructure, is to generate specific cluster recommendations for the development of the resilience of urban stocks of trees. This ought to support the development of a preferably high risk-free level concerning the essential ecosystem services with precise implementation proposals for the tree population of the city of Essen with regard to climate change and shall be implemented by means of test pilots. The project is funded by the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety to provide measures for adaptation to climate change. It is executed together with the city administration of Essen.

The city of Essen experienced the worst summer storm since the beginning of records so far, it is called ELA and took place in June 2014. According to the first progress report large parts of the urban stock of trees were damaged when the storm hit the city with previously unimagined intensity. This underlines that the vulnerability of the tree population can lead to an impairment or even a complete standstill of the urban infrastructure with significant risks for affected people. With a view to the climate change and probably interrelated more frequent and intensive summer strong wind events a verification, optimisation or rather climate adaptation in the fields of urban forestry is urgently necessary. For this purpose, in the first instance, it can be learned from past events by appropriate analyses to later base upon it the development of concepts for a gradual implementation which on the one hand focuses on the increase of the resilience to such events and on the other hand aims to an optimisation of all ecosystem services of urban trees with regard to climate change.

Against the background of the summer storm ELA with its severe effects on the stock of trees of the city of Essen, the project serves the subsequent analysis of the quantitative changes in dependence of direction of the wind, city structure, structures of the forest and city tree population and orography for the whole urban stock of trees. It is owned by the city of Essen and has 1750 hectares of forest and about 230,000 city trees in the green infrastructure assets of streets, educational institutions, green areas and other properties. It is expected, that a clustering of comparable structures and damage stages can be derived from the analysis.

Simultaneously, the criticality of the urban infrastructure will be examined and analysed, from which a city wide criticality ranking is created. Infrastructures are described to be “critical”, when they are of substantial importance for the functioning of modern societies and their failure or impairment results in persistent disorders in the overall system. On this basis and in connection with the findings of the wind dynamics with their effect on trees, simulated calculations for storm scenarios with different structures of forest and city tree population will be performed in comparable risk structures. The effects concerning changes of the ecosystem services will be qualified and specific recommendations for action will be made. A high transferability can be expected by this project, whereby the risk awareness towards storm events can be increased.

 

Funded by the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety on the basis of a resolution of the German Bundestag.

Funding programme: Funding of measures for the adaptation to climate change

Funding priority: Municipal pioneering projects as well as development of local and regional cooperations (funding priority 3)

Funding-ID: 03DAS121B

Further information on funding:

Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety

Projektträger Jülich

Contact: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Greiving, M. Sc. Florian Hurth, Lena Jorg

Other projects in this research area:

Sprungmarken

Servicenavigation

Hauptnavigation


Sie sind hier: Start > 

Bereichsnavigation


Hauptinhalt

Raumbezogene Risiko- und Klimafolgenforschung

BaumAdapt - Optimierung stadtweiter Ökosystemleistungen urbaner Baumbestände im Einklang mit der Resilienz kritischer Infrastruktur im Fokus sommerlicher Starkwindereignisse und Klimaanpassung (2018- 2019)

Das Projektziel besteht darin, unter Berücksichtigung der Vulnerabilität der kritischen Infrastruktur konkrete Clusterempfehlungen für die Entwicklung der Resilienz urbaner Baumbestände zu generieren. Damit soll ein möglichst hohes risikofreies Niveau hinsichtlich der erforderlichen Ökosystemleistungen mit konkreten Umsetzungsvorschlägen im urbanen Baumbestand der Stadt Essen im Angesicht des Klimawandels erarbeitet und anhand von Versuchspiloten in Umsetzung gebracht werden. Es handelt es sich um ein durch das Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit gefördertes Projekt zur Förderung von Maßnahmen zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel. Es wird in Kooperation mit der Stadt Essen durchgeführt.

Die Stadt Essen erlebte mit ELA Anfang Juni 2014 den bislang heftigsten Sommerorkan seit Beginn der Aufzeichnungen. Laut dem ersten Erfahrungsbericht wurden große Teile des urbanen Baumbestandes beschädigt, als der Sturm die Stadt mit bisher ungekannter Stärke traf. Dadurch ist deutlich geworden, dass die Verletzbarkeit der Baumbestände zu einer Beeinträchtigung oder sogar einem vollständigen Erliegen der städtischen Infrastruktur mit erheblichen Risiken für die betroffenen Menschen führen kann. Mit Blick auf den Klimawandel und damit voraussichtlich zusammenhängenden häufigeren und intensiveren sommerlichen Starkwindereignissen ist auch im Bereich urbaner Forstwirtschaft eine Überprüfung, Optimierung bzw. Klimaanpassung dringend geboten. Dazu kann zunächst aus den vergangenen Ereignissen durch entsprechende Analysen gelernt werden, um darauf aufbauend Konzepte für eine sukzessive Umsetzung zu erarbeiten, die letztlich einerseits die Erhöhung der Resilienz zu solchen Ereignissen im Fokus hat, aber gleichzeitig natürlich auf eine Optimierung sämtlicher Ökosystemdienstleistungen urbaner Bäume mit Blick auf den Klimawandel abzielen muss.

Vor dem Hintergrund des Sommerorkans ELA mit seinen gravierenden Auswirkungen auf den Baumbestand der Stadt Essen dient das Projekt zunächst der nachträglichen Analyse der quantitativen Veränderung in Abhängigkeit von Windrichtung, Stadtstrukturen, Wald- und Stadtbaumbestandstrukturen und Orographie für den gesamten urbanen Stadtbaumbestand im Eigentum der Stadt Essen mit 1750 Ha Wald und rund 230.000 Stadtbäumen im grünen Infrastrukturvermögen von Straßen, Bildungseinrichtungen, Grünflächen und sonstigen Liegenschaften. Es wird erwartet, dass sich aus der Analyse eine Clusterung vergleichbarer Strukturen und Schadstufen ableiten lässt.

Parallel wird die systemische Kritikalität der städtischen Infrastrukturen untersucht und analysiert, woraus weiterführend ein stadtweites Kritikalitätsranking erstellt wird. Infrastrukturen werden dann als „kritisch“ bezeichnet, wenn sie für die Funktionsfähigkeit moderner Gesellschaften von wesentlicher Bedeutung sind und ihr Ausfall oder ihre Beeinträchtigung anhaltende Störungen im Gesamtsystem zur Folge hat. Auf dieser Grundlage werden in Verbindung mit den Erkenntnissen der Winddynamik und ihrer Auswirkung auf Bäume Simulationsberechnungen für Sturmszenarien mit verschiedenen standortgerechten Wald- und Stadtbaumbestandstrukturen in vergleichbaren Risikostrukturen durchgeführt. Die Auswirkungen hinsichtlich der Veränderungen der Ökosystemleistungen werden hierbei jeweils ebenfalls qualifiziert und konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen abgeleitet. Das Projekt lässt eine hohe Übertragbarkeit für andere Kommunen erwarten, wodurch das Risikobewusstsein gegenüber Sturmereignissen erhöht werden kann.


Gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages.

Förderprogramm: Förderung von Maßnahmen zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel

Förderschwerpunkt: Kommunale Leuchtturmvorhaben sowie Aufbau von lokalen und regionalen Kooperationen (Förderschwerpunkt 3)

Förderkennzeichen: 03DAS121B

Weitere Informationen zur Förderung:

Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit

Projektträger Jülich

 

Ansprechpartner: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Greiving, M. Sc. Florian Hurth, Lena Jorg

Weitere Projekte dieses Forschungsfeldes: